What are Modules?

Modules make up a skills cluster (specialization) that are linked to an occupational competency as defined in the requirement for a job profile or designation (occupational code) for a career path or vocational choice for job seekers in the industry.


Fundamental Modules

Fundamental modules are usually compulsory and cover material without which further study would be impossible or extremely difficult. The Fundamental Component consists of unit standards totaling 36 credits; all of which are compulsory.


Core Modules

Core modules are compulsory for all students on that course.


Elective Modules

Elective modules are courses (specialisation categories) you can choose, while compulsory Core and Fundamental modules are mandatory courses that you must study to meet your program requirements. Electives, when added to your Core courses, make up the total number of credits needed to complete your qualification. Electives allow you to study topics that interest you.

Learners are to choose one specialisation category and complete all the unit standards, totaling at least 63 credits, listed for that specialisation category. Should the unit standards in a specialization category total less than 63 credits, learners are to choose additional Elective unit standards, except those unit standards which are listed as unsuitable for the category, to give a minimum of 63 credits for the Elective Component.


See also Understanding Unit Standards


Social Share: